Explore classic and contemporary homes of note throughout Berkshire County.
SEPTEMBER 21 • Stockbridge: Paula and Gregory Gimblette will show the Joseph Woodbridge House, restored meticulously and filled with antiques and items of historical significance. Built in 1750, it is most likely the earliest frame structure in Berkshire County. From there, participants will visit Cherry Cottage on the property of Kate and Hans Morris, which was built in 1782 and is one of the oldest houses in the Berkshires. It is an example of a historical restoration with great attention paid to the use of antique materials and period construction methods.
SEPTEMBER 28 • Stockbridge: Chelly and Lance Sterman’s house, designed by Martin Lowenfish for the fitness guru Bonnie Prudden, became the home for a large eclectic collection of paintings, lithographs, art glass, folk art, and pottery assembled lovingly over more than four decades.
OCTOBER 5 • Stockbridge: The Pease-Lincoln House, one of the oldest dwellings in Stockbridge, is now the home of Carole and Gordon Hyatt. The original design of the Federal-style house built in 1862 was inspired by Scottish architect Robert Adams, and features gardens most likely designed by Daniel Chester French. Many architectural details as well as art finds and furniture were added by the Hyatts both inside and outside of the house—such as the Gothic Revival conservatory inspired by Strawberry Hill, London, the home of Horace Walpole. All in all a visual feast!
OCTOBER 12 • Williamstown: William and Margot Moomaw will share their certified LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) home. “The path to a sustainable future requires us to live deliberately.” This zero net energy home sends surplus energy to the grid on sunny days, retrieving energy as needed at night and during cloudy periods.
OCTOBER 19 • Stockbridge: Boulderwood is an Arts and Crafts-style house constructed by Henry Farnum in 1900. The fieldstone and shingle house designed by Bjorn, a Lichtenstein architect, is situated on 80 acres near the end of Ice Glen Road with magnificent views to the southwest of Monument Mountain and beyond. Owner James Finnerty will share restoration details as well as the history of the Farnum family.
OCTOBER 26 • Williamstown: Jock Brooks will present two exceptional buildings. The Folly at Field Farm is an architectural museum owned by the Trustees of Reservations. This gem is a bite-sized guest house using curving lines and spaces and natural materials, with a spectacular view across a pond to Mount Greylock. Designed by Ulrich Franzen in1965, it reflects the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright in seeking “organic” aesthetics. The Williams College Museum of Art combines many styles in its numerous revisions and modifications since it was originally built in 1846. Charles Moore’s major addition in the 1980s is full of humorous touches and spaces which we will explore as we tour the complex. Lottery instructions on page 14.